Make your own free website on

10/01/04 - Findlay Cup Tayport 7 Bankfoot 1


Busy day for Bankfoot keeper Martin More pictures -  click

Clear and sunny but on the coldside today at the Cainniepairt for this cup tie with Bankfoot which was originally scheduled for Bankfoot  but the ground there is icebound. Tayport controlled this match throughout with keeper Frazer Fitzpatrick rarely called upon to make a save. Port started strongly and on 7 minutes a through ball found Derek Wemyss on the right who sent over a low cross into the area to the feet of Gareth Dailly. Gareth neatly slid the ball into the net. The Bankfoot keeper Martin playing his first game for the club put up a brave display diving and clearing Ports attempts at goal until 35 minutes when a corner from the right started a scramble in the penalty area with the ball breaking to Barry McNaughton who hammered the ball home for Ports second.  Three minutes later and Frazer Fitzpatrick was called upon to make a rare diving save to his right. Port immediately replied with John Elliot running down the right sending over a pinpoint cross to the feet of Ben Honeyman to slot home number three. Bankfoot needed something to keep their hopes alive with a free kick on the right sent into the Port goal area. Derek Sturgen  climbed above the Ports defence to back header  the ball finding keeper Fitzpatrick frozen to the spot and ending up in the top left corner of the Port goal. Half time 3-1

Port again started strongly with John Elliot down the right sending over some searching crosses. Four goals followed, 2 from captain Steven Stewart, one form Ben Honeyman and an own goal. A Ben Honeyman header off the crossbar, Barry McNaughton drive from 20 yards skimming the crossbar, a rare Grant Paterson header missing by inches were just some of the highlights along with Allan Ramsay  in the final seconds diving in on a Grant Paterson cross for what would have been a spectacular goal only to sneak past the upright by inches.

Tayport - F Fitzpatrick, Grant Paterson, John Ward, Derek Wemyss, Steven Stewart, John Elliot, Roberto Morris, Barry McNaughton, Gareth Dailly, Ross Gunnion and Ben Honeyman.