Make your own free website on

Season 2002/2003. Update from The Canniepairt, dateline 29th July 2002

Manager Dave Baikie was pleased the performance against Glasgow Superleague Maryhill on Saturday past in what was his side's first workout of the season. The home support was particularly impressed with debutant Roberto Morris in a side devoid of several regulars because of holidays. This is again likely to be the position when the team travels up river this Wednesday to meet Newburgh in a friendly, the proceeds of which will go to a local charity.

Manager Baikie is looking to further strengthen his squad before the big Superleague kick-off but any moves are unlikely to take place before Wednesday.


Return to top
Season Summary 2001/2002

For yet another year the cost of a Tayport FC season ticket/membership price remains unchanged at 25 for adults and 15 for children and senior citizens.

Last season Tayport FC had one of their best ever campaigns to secure a place at the Junior game's top table. The last ever Tayside league Championship was won in classic fashion on the Canniepairt with the 3-0 win over Carnoustie making it a tremendous finale to the season, the Concept Trophy, DJ Laing league Cup, Findlay Cup, Herschell Trophy and Craig Stephen Trophy, awarded to the regions top scoring club, already having been won. In addition the club reached the semi-final of the OVD Scottish Junior Cup, losing out 2-1 to eventual winners Linlithgow Rose.

As ever there will be changes for the new season, with Colin McGlashan retiring and young keeper Duncan Bruce going full lime with Dundee United. Roberto Morris has signed from Forfar Athletic and there are likely to be other new faces before the August 10th kick-off. As usual it has not been a lengthy break for the players who finished on 12th June and resumed training on the 10th of July.

The new season will be the biggest challenge to date for the club, with the new Superleague providing the biggest league stage yet. we are all anticipating an exciting eleven months.

We are delighted to have renewed major sponsorship arrangements with Messrs. Scott & Fyfe, BRE Limited and Tayside Lift Trucks. Also providing a major sponsorship this season is Leuchars Glazing. Their support - and that of all advertisers and sponsors - is very much appreciated. We are currently in the throes of providing a new half-time hospitality facility exclusive to members/season ticket holders. We hope to have this ready for the early part of the season

End of an Era
Taside Junior Football Association

The Tayside Junior FA will be no more after this season. A lot of balls have hit the back of various nets in that time and John Brown's page in the Friday's Tele could no doubt be filled for months and months with anecdotes from the Junior during the past three decades. We'll just have a quick summary here.

If successes were tallied up Tayport, despite featuring in only the last dozen years in terms of cup and league wins, would be top of the premier division, (see Below).

In 33 seasons 28 different clubs have won honours in 19 different competitions. The Cinderella club is Coupar Angus. Despite entering 275 competitions in the period, Coupar failed to get their name engraved on a trophy. Nine cups which were contested at some point during the life of the Tayside Juniors are no longer played for- Courier Cup, Telegraph Cup, Kiddie Cup, PA Cup, Cream of the Barley Trophy, SRS Cup, Dryburgh Cup, Tayside Regional League Cup, Winter Cup. Where re they all now we wonder?

A number of clubs which formerly graced the Tayside scene went defunct during this period including St Josephs, Balbeggie, Hydro Dynamo, Crieff Earngrove, Aylth United, Stobswell, Dundee Osborne, Forfar East End and Forfar Celtic.

Tayport 32 Violet 7
Downfield 23 East Craigie 7
St Josephs 19 Arbroath SC 6
North End 19 Montrose 4
Carnoustie 19 Arbroath Vics 4
Lochee United 16 Crieff 3
Jeanfield Swifts 16 Osborne 3
Broughty Ath 12 Bankfoot 3
Blairgowrie 12 Brechin Vics 2
Kirrie Thistle 10 Luncarty 2
Kinnoull 10 Scone This. 1
Lochee Harp 9 Elmwood 1
Forfar West End 9 Alyth 1
Forfar Albion 8 Stobswell 1
    Coupar Angus 0

Return to top